Faraway land

You know when you look at the map in the middle of the city and it has a red spot on it and the text: “YOU ARE HERE”? And then for a split second you feel this warm and fuzzy feeling inside of you? You feel grounded, like I AM HERE!

I like maps. That’s a quite recent development. This means that I still don’t read maps well, I just relate with them. Most likely it has something to do with living abroad, away from the home country and family and many friends. Like looking at the red spot on the city map, there’s something similarly comforting in looking at the world map and drawing a line between the United States and Finland.

This map is my map of Finland. This is how it looks now when I think about it from faraway.

Finland_SD copy

© EJ 2013 All rights reserved (Contact me if you want to make a copy and use any images for publication elsewhere: simpledrawings [at] gmail [dot] com)

